“Pick Your Own” fun…

There is nothing that I like better than shimmying on down to a “Pick Your Own farm” and getting all close and personal with my food.  I have many a happy childhood memory spent rambling around fields with grubby knees and strawberry stained lips.  Nothing much has changed!

This weekend I had the pleasure of heading on down to the wonderful Copas Pick Your Own Farm in Cookham.  It is like a little piece of abundant, rural heaven.  This month there are strawberries, raspberries, cherries, redcurrants, blackcurrants, spinach, beetroot, green beans, broad beans, peas and more.  Yum, yum and yum.

Now I need to work out what to do with all my booty.  Am planning to don my inventors hat (in reality this is an imaginary bit of tin foil fashioned into a cap with pointy ears) and get busy in the kitchen to create my very own Summer Jam.  I’ve no idea how to make jam.  I have never made jam.  How hard can it be?  You don’t really need a thermometer do you???

Ciao for now.

(For more of my photos then pop on over to my Etsy shop)

16 thoughts on ““Pick Your Own” fun…

  1. I loved those things as a kid! I got two ice cream buckets full of raspberries one time on vacation, ate about half, then they went moulds the next day. Lesson learned: you can only wash raspberries for immediate use.
    Good luck with your jam!

  2. Lovely photos, I’m not usually a fan of vignette effects as I think people use them without considering effect it can have on the composition. But in this case it works very well, adds a lovely vintage feel to the images, nice! 🙂

    1. Why thank you very much. What a lovely thing to say! I think that there is certainly a trend towards a little vignette overuse at the moment. Saying that I do think when used appropriately it can add lots of loveliness. 🙂

  3. We love PYO too. Picked strawberries the other days and now have jam and, even better, freezer jam that tastes as fresh as they day they were picked as there is NO cooking – and, no, you don’t need a thermometer for the jam you cook, just the wrinkle test! 🙂

Leave a Reply

