Swan Upping – Henley On Thames 2013

It was a very special day in sunny Henley today with the annual arrival (in true British fashion) of the 2013 Swan Upping party. What better place for a very British ritual than the banks of the River Thames, especially when that ritual is all about counting and checking the health of all the Queen’s swans.

I must say that I didn’t actually see any swans but I did see a lot of jolly looking gentleman!  I’m sure the swans were to be found further downstream but if I am completely honest three hours spent rambling around in equatorial heat had me heading for the shelter of a willow tree with an ice cream.

If you would like see more of my Henley On Thames photography then head on over to my Henley Days page.  If you would like a look at some shots of the Henley Royal Regatta 2013 then please pop over to my Regatta page.

If you would like to have a look at more of my work then why not wiggle on over to my Etsy shop?

2 thoughts on “Swan Upping – Henley On Thames 2013

Leave a Reply

